Restile Ceramics Ltd Forensic Report - SOIC x StockScans Report

as of Aug 2026

Restile Ceramics' record is dominated by a single, sustained problem: its net worth is deeply negative, with equity negative in both FY2024-25 and FY2025-26 and a gearing ratio that could not be arrived at for those years. The rest of the record is a pattern of related-party dealings with a loss-making promoter-controlled entity, collapsing revenue concentrated in one undisclosed customer, and a single BSE fine of ₹5,900 for delayed related-party transaction disclosure, paid December 29, 2025.

Key findings

  1. Restile's only material related-party relationship is a tile-purchase arrangement with Bell Granito Ceramica Limited, a company controlled by the Rathod family, whose approved transaction ceiling has doubled to ₹10 crore for FY2026-27 while BGCL itself reported a ₹20.06 crore loss in FY2024-25 Major - Restile sought shareholder approval for material related-party transactions with Bell Granito Ceramica Limited (BGCL) for FY2026-27 with an aggregate value of up to ₹10 crore, double the ₹5 crore ceiling sought in each of the prior five years (FY2021-22 through FY2025-26). BGCL is described as an "Enterprise over which key management personnel or their relatives exercises control," and Restile's CFO Mr. Tribhuvan Simh Rathod holds 90,00,000 shares in BGCL. BGCL reported a Profit/Loss After Tax of Rs. (2,005.90) lakhs on turnover of 77.85 crore for FY 2024-25, while the proposed ₹10 crore transaction equals 12.8460% of BGCL's annual standalone turnover of ₹77.85 crore. Actual purchases from BGCL were 1.29 crore in FY 2024-25 and 1.58 crore in the current financial year up to the quarter immediately preceding the approval sought, against the proposed ₹10 crore annual ceiling. The purchase price from BGCL is "fixed at List price approved for customer less 5%" or based on "actual price of tiles and conversion charge plus small margin for handling charges," and "No bidding or any other process has been applied for choosing a party". A trade advance of Rs. 100 Lakhs with a 45-day tenure is proposed to be extended to BGCL as part of the FY2026-27 related-party transaction approval. Shareholder resolutions approving related-party transactions with BGCL passed with 100% of votes polled in favour in FY2024-25 (6,26,49,182 of 6,26,49,210 votes) and 99.9998% in favour in FY2023-24 (6,26,62,645 of 6,26,62,795 votes), with promoter/promoter group voting 100% in favour both years.
  2. Revenue is collapsing while a single undisclosed customer accounts for a growing share of what little remains, and the company repeatedly writes off trade receivables it no longer expects to recover Major - Revenue from Customer 1 (identity not disclosed) was Rs. 3.24 crore in FY2025-26, up from Rs. 1.31 crore in FY2024-25, while total revenue fell from Rs. 5.63 crore to Rs. 1.43 crore over the same period, making Customer 1 approximately 58% of FY2025-26 revenue. Revenue from Customer 1 (identity not disclosed) was Rs. 1.31 crore in FY2024-25 versus Rs. 92.61 lakhs in FY2023-24, while total revenue was Rs. 5.63 crore in FY2026 and Rs. 1.43 crore in FY2025. During FY2024-25 the company wrote off certain trade receivables and does not expect future cash flows or recoveries from amounts previously written off.
  3. Borrowings remained in a narrow band while shareholders approved borrowing up to ₹50 crore Major - Total borrowings stood at Rs. 36.87 crore as at March 31, 2026, versus Rs. 38.06 crore as at March 31, 2025. The company sought shareholder approval via special resolution to borrow up to ₹50 Crores in excess of aggregate paid-up share capital and free reserves under Section 180(1)(a) and 180(1)(c) of the Companies Act, 2013. The gearing ratio has not been arrived at in FY2025-26 and FY2024-25 because equity is negative. The special resolution was PASSED at the 2024 AGM with 62,662,695 votes in favour (99.9998%) and 100 votes against, with promoter and promoter group voting 62,596,312 shares (100% in favour).
  4. Promoter family dominates board; Chairman held 81,26,383 shares, MD unpaid Minor - Mr. Nalinkant Amratlal Rathod, Non-Executive Chairman and promoter, held 81,26,383 equity shares as on March 31, 2026, and received NIL sitting fees during FY ended March 31, 2026, while other Non-Executive Directors received between 0.24 and 0.40 lakhs each. Mr. Viren Rathod, Managing Director, received gross remuneration of Nil for FY ended March 31, 2026, FY ended March 31, 2025, FY ended March 31, 2024, and FY ended March 31, 2023. Mr. Viren Rathod was re-appointed as Managing Director for five years from May 04, 2024 "without payment of remuneration" pursuant to a Special Resolution passed at the 37th AGM.
  5. A 1997 sale-and-leaseback lawsuit has remained pending before the High Court for nearly three decades, with the company disputing the claim while the disputed assets stay on its books and no provision made Minor - A case filed against Restile Ceramics Ltd in 1997 regarding an alleged sale and lease back of certain fixed assets remains pending before the High Court, with the company disputing the veracity of the arrangement citing no evidence of appropriate approvals, and the assets continuing in the company's possession and reflected in accounts, with further cash outflows determinable only on receipt of judgements. The same 1997 sale-and-leaseback litigation has been disclosed in every annual report from FY2019-20 through FY2025-26, with identical language describing the case as pending before the High Court and the company disputing the arrangement's veracity. Contingent liability for Income Tax as at March 31, 2022 was Rs. 2.01 lakhs, with unclaimed statutory dues including an income tax demand of Rs. 1 lakh for FY 2009-10 and Rs. 2.01 lakh for FY 2014-15 outstanding as of that date. Pending dues as of February 10, 2022 included employee final settlement of Rs. 14.69 lakhs, dealer deposits of Rs. 45.50 lakhs, and trade creditors/advances from customers of Rs. 55.87 lakhs, with follow-up action and MSME Act compliance required.
  6. Statutory auditor rotated once at term completion in 2024 with no resignations reported across seven years, while secretarial auditor changed in 2025 under amended regulations Clean - M/s. R. Sundararajan & Associates (FRN 008282S) served as Statutory Auditor from appointment at AGM September 20, 2019 for 5 years until conclusion of the 38th AGM, and was replaced by M/s. M. S. Krishnaswami & Rajan (FRN 01554S) at the AGM held September 12, 2024 for 5 years from conclusion of 38th AGM till AGM for year 2028-2029. The company's annual reports for FY2020-21 through FY2025-26 consistently state no statutory auditors or secretarial auditors resigned during each respective year. CARO reports for FY2021-22, FY2022-23, and FY2024-25 each state clause 3(xviii) regarding resignation of statutory auditors was not applicable. M/s. Mitesh Shah & Co., Company Secretaries (Firm Registration No. P2025MH104700) was appointed as Secretarial Auditor at the meeting held September 09, 2025 for 5 consecutive years from April 01, 2025 to March 31, 2030, at remuneration of ₹50,000 for FY2025-26, replacing M/s. Mitesh J. Shah & Associates. The secretarial auditor change was recommended pursuant to amended Regulation 24A of SEBI Listing Regulations notified via SEBI notification dated December 12, 2024. Resolution 3 appointing M/s. M. S. Krishnaswami & Rajan as Statutory Auditors passed with 62,662,695 votes in favour (99.9998%) and 100 votes against (0.0002%) from 58 shareholders.

What to watch

Bottom line: This is a record of sustained adverse audit opinions, negative net worth, and a business whose revenue has shrunk to a fraction of its former size while its dealings concentrate in a loss-making promoter-controlled entity. The risk is not a single event but the accumulated pattern: a company that cannot generate profits, relies on related-party purchases, and repeatedly seeks approval to borrow against a negative equity base. Watch the shareholder votes at the 40th AGM and whether the amalgamation with BGCL proceeds.