VTM Ltd’s record is clean on audit: six years of unqualified opinions, no fraud flags, and no wilful default. Two things deserve attention. Reported profit has not converted to cash for a decade, cumulative operating cash flow covers only half of profit after other income, while the company continues to spend on capex and pay dividends. The CFO chair has turned over four times in five years, yet the statutory auditor has stayed the same throughout.
Key findings
- Operating cash flow chronically trails reported profit, while capex and dividends continue
Major- Over the ten years to FY26, cumulative cash flow from operations of ₹45 crore covered only 0.50x of cumulative profit after tax less other income (₹147 crore minus ₹58 crore). Free cash flow was negative in FY24, negative ₹24.91 crore, and negative ₹58.76 crore in FY25, and implied negative in FY26 after ₹1.31 crore of CFO was more than absorbed by capex [SQL]. The company recommended a dividend of Re.0.90 per share in FY22 and continued capex through FY26, including ₹3.55 crore for rapier looms and ₹1.80 crore for OPTIMAX looms. - The CFO position changed four times in five years
Major- The CFO position changed four times between October 2020 and December 2025: Mr. M. Ramanathan resigned on 29 October 2020, Mr. K. Deenadayalan on 26 April 2022, Mr. A.N. Paramasivam on 15 June 2023, and Mr. K. Deenadayalan again on 12 December 2025. Shareholders re-appointed CNGSN & Associates LLP for a second five-year term with 23,628,537 votes in favour and 6 against. - Promoter family holds 75% and controls the board, with CMD remuneration swinging sharply
Minor- Promoters held 75.00% of equity as of 31 March 2026, with zero pledge across all reported years. Remuneration provided for the Chairman & MD was ₹50.00 lakhs in FY26 for Sri K. Thiagarajan, ₹2.5 crore in FY25 for Sri K. Thiagarajan, and ₹45.00 lakhs in FY23 for Sri T. Karman, each capped at 5% of net profits. All shareholder resolutions pass with near-zero dissent: the December 2025 postal ballot recorded 68,775,469 votes in favour and zero against, with the promoter group casting 68,729,250 of those votes. - Revenue recognition is a recurring Key Audit Matter, while export revenue dominates and receivables days have lengthened
Minor- The auditor identified revenue recognition as a Key Audit Matter, an area needing the most judgement, in FY26, citing cut-off risk for exports in transit and pressure to meet financial targets. Export turnover was ₹214.78 crore in FY26, the majority of total revenue of ₹372 crore, while trade receivables days increased from 24.25 days in FY23 to 50.19 days in FY26. - The company claims to be debt-free on a net basis despite carrying ₹74.93 crore in borrowings, 86% of it short-term
Minor- The Board’s Report for FY22 and FY23 stated that “On net basis, the Company is Debt free,” yet total borrowings stood at ₹74.93 crore in FY26, of which ₹64.23 crore was short-term. A Working Capital Term Loan of ₹10.6 crore from SBI is secured by a second charge on current assets and machinery, with repayment commencing April 2027. - Related-party approvals for up to ₹100 crore each with Thiagarajar Mills and Colour Yarns passed with near-unanimous promoter votes, while counterparty financials were not disclosed
Minor- Shareholders approved a contract with Thiagarajar Mills (P) Ltd. for up to ₹100 crore per annum for five years at the July 2023 AGM. Shareholders also approved a related-party contract with Colour Yarns Private Limited via postal ballot in December 2025; all votes polled were in favour. The explanatory statement for the Colour Yarns approval does not disclose the counterparty’s turnover, net worth, or the limit as a percentage of its size. - Exceptional items of ₹3.03 crore were recognised in FY26, while a 3:2 bonus issue was allotted
Minor- The company recognised exceptional items totalling ₹3.03 crore in FY26, comprising a ₹47.76 lakh incremental gratuity provision and a ₹2.55 crore charge for abnormal forex rate changes. In June 2025, it allotted 6,03,41,400 bonus shares in a 3:2 ratio. - Auditor issued unqualified opinions with clean CARO responses on fraud, wilful default, and benami
Clean- The statutory auditor issued an unqualified opinion on the standalone financial statements for each year from FY21 through FY26. The auditor reported no fraud, no whistle-blower complaints, and no wilful default in every year from FY22 through FY26, and confirmed no proceedings for holding benami property under the Benami Transactions Act.
What to watch
- Director re-appointment. The 79th AGM is scheduled for 31 July 2026, with the re-appointment of Sri V. Kasinathan, Director retiring by rotation, on the agenda.
Bottom line: This is a disclosed and audited record with a clean audit trail and no evidence of diversion or wilful default. The risk sits in the gap between reported profit and cash generation: a decade of weak conversion, negative free cash flow in three of the last four years, and persistent CFO turnover that leaves the finance function without steady stewardship. Watch whether the cash cycle tightens and whether the CFO chair stabilises.