City Union Bank Ltd Q3 FY2025 Concall Summary

Source transcript PDF: https://www.stockscans.in/document/avx8o4mybfjwfw346tnguqwf.pdf

Key Takeaways


Growth Recovery & Trajectory

Kamakodi: "The Q3 has been a wonderful quarter. We are able to get back the growth, which was eluding us for quite some time."

Asset Quality & Slippages

Vijay Anandh: "It appears that our strategy of not getting into unsecured retail is helping us in a big way to have a better asset quality, both in slippages as well as on SMA 2 numbers."

Margin & Yield Dynamics

Vijay Anandh: "We don't expect as we mentioned before the margin to go up for sure because assets get repriced quickly. So if the rate cut happens the asset gets repriced quickly and it takes at least three, four quarters for the liabilities to get that benefit for the bank."

Retail Strategy & Execution

Vijay Anandh: "We will do retail, but our focus on MSME continues. As we mentioned earlier, 2% to 2.5% would be the retail contribution in the overall for the year. So our focus on MSME continues. We don't have any change in our portfolio composition."

Operating Performance & Costs


Strategic Initiatives & Regulatory


Guidance & Commitments

CommitmentSpecificsTimeline
Credit growth12% to 14%Next 2-3 years
Credit growth vs industry1% to 2% above industry rateOngoing
NIM3.60% ± 10 bpsOngoing
Cost-to-income ratio48% to 50%FY24/25
Retail contribution2% to 2.5% of overall bookFY26
Retail contribution8% to 9% of overall bookNext 3-4 years
SlippagesINR 800 crores or lessCurrent year
SlippagesAround INR 700 croresNext year
Slippages vs recoveriesSlippages less than recoveriesNext two quarters (H2 through H1 next year)
Credit cost60-65 bpsOngoing
Net NPA1% to 1.25%Not specified
PCR target60%Not specified
CD ratio~85%Ongoing
Branch count850 to 875By March 31, 2025
Write-off recoveriesINR 60-80 crores per quarter averageOngoing
Fee-to-assets ratio~1.2Ongoing
Q4 establishment expenses~INR 185 croresQ4 FY25
Yield on advancesDrop to ~9.7% from 9.81%As rate cuts occur

Key Metrics

MetricQ3 FY25
Gross advances₹50,409 cr, +14.6% YoY
Deposits₹58,271 cr, +11% YoY
CASA₹16,132 cr, +5% YoY
Net interest margin3.58%, vs 3.50% in Q3 FY24
Operating profit₹436 cr, +20% YoY
PAT₹286 cr, +13% YoY
ROA1.57%, vs 1.49% in Q3 FY24
ROE12.64%, vs 12.57% in Q3 FY24
Cost-to-income ratio46.58%, vs 48.64% in Q3 FY24
Gross NPA3.36%, vs 3.54% in Q2 FY25 and 4.47% in Q3 FY24
Net NPA1.42%, vs 1.62% in Q2 FY25 and 2.19% in Q3 FY24
PCR without technical write-off59%, vs 55% in Q2 FY25 and 51% in Q3 FY24
PCR with technical write-off77%, vs 71% in Q3 FY24
SMA to total advances1.91%, vs 2.03% in Q2 FY25
SMA 2₹960.56 cr, vs ₹990 cr in Sep 2024
Slippages₹201 cr for the quarter
Recoveries₹249 cr (₹203 cr from live NPA, ₹46 cr from written-off accounts)
Yield on advances9.81%, vs 9.62% in Q3 FY24
Cost of deposits5.88%, vs 5.67% in Q3 FY24
Average LCR119%
Credit growth guidance12% to 14% for FY26
NIM guidance~3.6%, plus or minus 10 bps
Slippages guidance FY25₹800 cr or less
Slippages guidance FY26~₹700 cr
Targeted PCR60%
Credit cost guidance60–65 bps, expected to remain flat
Cost-to-income guidance48% to 50%
Branch count target850 to 875 by March 31, 2025