Key Takeaways
- NIM compression has a shelf life: The two one-off regulatory hits (penal charges, DD interest reversal) end this quarter, and the last leg of term deposit repricing should flatten by mid-Q3, clearing the path for volume-led NII growth.
- Asset quality is noisy but not alarming: Mortgage slippages are elevated and described as episodic, while the ₹1,400 cr NPA stock is maturing into a recovery window; provision coverage ratio stands at 76%.
- The mortgage book is being rewired for yield: A deliberate shift from 50:50 home loan to business loan mix targets a 1.5–2% pickup in sourcing yield, with the ₹50 lakh–₹1 crore MSME segment as the new battleground.
- Cost-to-assets is a NIM story, not a cost story: The 2.71% ratio is elevated because NIM fell, not because OPEX ran away; management expects a steady drop to 2.5% as productivity and technology investments kick in.
- What to watch next quarter: Whether the one-off yield hits actually vanish, whether the co-lending partner disruption stays fully recovered, and whether the mortgage mix shift starts showing up in reported yields by Q2.
NIM & Yield: The Compression and the Recovery
- Two one-off regulatory hits landed in Q1: The shift from penal interest to penal charges moved some income from NII to fee, and interest now accrues from DD handover date rather than disbursal date, creating a temporary reversal. Both are done and will not repeat.
- Term deposit repricing is in its final leg: Long-duration deposits booked in a lower-rate era are renewing at current higher rates, compressing NIM. Management expects this drag to flatten out by the middle of the third quarter.
- Three levers to pull yield back up: A deliberate thrust toward higher-yielding business loans over home loans, a reduction in lower-yielding TReDS outstanding replaced by genuine SME overdrafts, and the absence of further one-off hits.
- Hybrid-rate loans offer an embedded upside: Fixed-rate loans that convert to floating are repricing monthly on a steady-state basis, and the process is not yet complete. More loans will turn floating in future periods unless closed earlier.
- Management declined to quantify the yield damage: When asked to break down the yield decline into its components, the bank stated it does not give individual break-ups, only confirming that the penal charge shift and DD interest refund are one-time and temporary.
Praveen Kutty: "So, those two one-offs will not happen. And the rest of the yield is a question of the mix, and I told the group on a go-forward basis three items where we are increasing the yield."
Mortgage & SME: The Yield Pivot
- The mortgage book is being split and reoriented: The portfolio is now cut roughly 50:50 between home loans and business loans, with an explicit strategy to tilt increasingly toward business loans that carry a 1.5–2% yield premium at sourcing.
- The ₹50 lakh–₹1 crore MSME space is the target: After a steady decline in ticket size from 2016 toward affordable housing and small-ticket LAP, the bank is now reclaiming this segment through a dedicated vertical structure.
- SME is pivoting from TReDS to overdrafts: The future SME book will rely less on TReDS and more on genuine overdraft products, which management expects will improve yield, increase cross-sell opportunities, and generate higher fee income.
- Home loan slippages are elevated but framed as episodic: The mortgage book grew from ₹445 cr to ₹486 cr, and home loans are the one area with elevated slippage. Management does not see this as a continuous problem.
Praveen Kutty: "So, within that, home loan is one area where there is a elevated slippage happening, but then it's not something which keeps us awake in the night. I see that more as episodic rather than as a continuous problem to handle."
Asset Quality & Recoveries
- Slippages ex-gold loan appear elevated: The increase is concentrated in the mortgage book, specifically home loans, which management characterizes as episodic.
- A large NPA pool is entering its recovery window: A substantial portion of the ₹1,400 cr NPA stock has matured. Recovery in the Indian judicial context typically happens either quickly or after 2.5–3 years when possession orders force borrower action. The vintage pool is expected to yield recoveries.
- Provision coverage ratio stands at 76%: The restructured book has declined to 2.34% net, considerably less than before, and credit cost remains comfortable despite a slight elevation in NPA ratios.
- No organic unsecured lending exposure: The bank does not have an organic unsecured book outside of MFI. It monitors secured customers via credit bureau scrubs to proactively act if they take unsecured loans elsewhere. MFI repayments are tracking to plan.
Co-lending & Loan Acquisition
- A major co-lending partner faced an embargo on March 4th: The partner was restricted from sourcing a particular product. The bank took quick compensatory action with other co-lending partners.
- Recovery was near-perfect by July: The co-lending book declined only marginally from 7.5% to 7.1–7.2% of total assets, and management expects the proportion to continue at current levels.
- A ~₹800 cr loan pool was acquired: The acquired book carries a weighted average residual maturity of ~4.6 years, with ~₹600 cr secured. The originator retains a minimum retention portion. Management declined to disclose the credit yield on the acquired book.
Praveen Kutty: "We have had near perfect recovery from that in March, April, May, June and July so far."
Fee Income & Operating Efficiency
- Core fee income grew 33% YoY to ₹114 cr: This is in line with Q4's ₹117 cr run rate. Some elevation came from penal charges flowing to fee income instead of NII, but third-party distribution and processing fees are repeatable drivers.
- Cost-to-average assets is elevated because NIM fell, not because costs ran away: The 2.71% ratio is expected to drop steadily to 2.5%, driven by three factors: productivity from people investments, focus on higher ticket sizes, and technology investments reducing courier, stationary, and storage costs.
- The 'My Docs' system has replaced 80+ physical dispatches: Electronic communication is reducing operational expenses, and the bank is placing greater emphasis on organic sourcing over DSA-based sourcing.
- Employee growth of 20% fuels 19% asset growth: Q1 OPEX includes salary increments and the full impact of incremental frontline hires, now at ~12,000 employees. The hiring strategy is explicitly a lever to sort productive from unproductive people.
- Cost-to-income target is 55%: The single largest lever is people productivity.
Capital, Growth & ROE Ambition
- The bank targets doubling the book in ~3.5 years: This implies 19–20% annual credit growth. Deposit growth slightly above 20% YoY and a CD ratio improving to 81.6% support the trajectory.
- ROA target is 1%, ROE target is 14%: Management acknowledges this is an aspiration and has never been achieved in 15 years. The construct: when capital is fully utilized, ROE operates closer to 15; when fresh capital comes in, closer to 13, producing a 13–15 range depending on capital utilization.
- Promoter capital infusion is awaiting regulatory clearance: A few more documents have been sought and are being submitted. Once clearance comes, capital inflow should happen in days or weeks. Management expects closure by Q2.
- CD ratio conservatism is deliberate: A sub-80% CD ratio is the near-term target, with management stating that being solvent and liquid is critical and that it is good to be conservative.
Praveen Kutty: "Is it an aspiration? Of course it's an aspiration. Will it happen? We are very confident."
Guidance & Commitments
| Commitment | Specifics | Timeline |
|---|---|---|
| NIM steady state | 365–370 bps on an ongoing basis | Ongoing |
| Term deposit repricing drag ends | Last leg of renewals flattens out | By middle of Q3 FY25 |
| One-off yield hits eliminated | Penal charges shift and DD interest reversal do not repeat | From Q2 FY25 |
| Volume-led NII growth | Volume growth reflects in NII after one-offs end and TD rates stabilize | From middle of Q3 FY25 |
| Cost-to-average assets | Drop steadily to 2.5% | "Very near future" |
| Cost-to-income ratio | 55% target | Not specified |
| Promoter capital infusion | Closure expected, subject to regulatory clearance | By Q2 FY25 |
| Credit growth | ~19–20% annual, doubling book in ~3.5 years | ~3.5 years |
| ROA / ROE | 1% ROA, 13–15% ROE range depending on capital utilization | Not specified |
| Business loan mix increase | Benefit from tilt toward business loans over home loans | From Q2, definitely Q3 FY25 |
| CD ratio | Sub-80% | Near term |
Key Metrics
| Metric | Q1 FY25 |
|---|---|
| Deposits growth | Slightly above 20% YoY |
| CASA growth | About 18% YoY |
| Savings account growth | 21% YoY |
| Total deposits | Crossed ₹50,000 cr |
| Loan growth | 18.9% |
| CD ratio | 81.6%, improved from previous quarter |
| LCR | Well over 120% (internal threshold) |
| NIM | 3.39%, down from Q4; guidance 365–370 bps |
| Yield on advances | 11.50%, down from 11.71% in Q4 |
| Cost-to-average assets | 2.71%, slightly less than 2.73% in Q1 FY24; target 2.5% |
| Fee income | ₹143 cr total; core fee income ₹114 cr |
| Fee income growth | 33% YoY (Q1 FY24 vs Q1 FY25) |
| Provision coverage ratio | 76% |
| Restructured book | 2.34% net |
| NPA stock | ~₹1,400 cr; mortgage ₹486 cr, SME & MSME ₹176 cr |
| ROA and ROE guidance | 1% ROA and 13%–14% ROE |
| Net worth | ₹5,000+ cr |
| RWA density | 53%, consistently below 55% since 2018 |
| Credit growth target | 19%–20% (double the book in ~3.5 years) |
| Co-lending book | 7.2% or 7.1% of total assets, down from 7.5% in Q4 |
| Construction finance book | About 4% of total |
| Mortgage book mix (business loan vs home loan) | 50-50 currently |
| Employee count | Closer to 12,000, up over 20% YoY |
| Branch additions | 3 this quarter, 9 in last one year |
| Acquired loan portfolio | ~₹800 cr with residual maturity of ~4.74 years; ~₹600 cr secured |
| NII growth | 5%, while assets grew 19% and yield grew 20% |