Expleo Solutions' record is clean on audit: seven years of unqualified opinions, no fraud or wilful-defaulter flags, and a straightforward subsidiary structure. Three things deserve attention. First, disputed tax demands exceed ₹126 crore with no provisions, and two recent regulator orders require repayment of benefits and credits. Second, related-party loans to group entities peaked at ₹115 crore, trade receivables from subsidiaries swung sharply, and a new ₹24 crore management-fee outflow appeared with no prior-year precedent. Third, a ₹120 crore amalgamation debit sits in capital reserve, exceptional labour-code charges recur, and deferred tax on subsidiary earnings remains unrecognised.
Key findings
- Disputed tax demands total ₹126 crore with no provisions
Major- The standalone auditor report lists disputed gross tax amounts totalling approximately ₹126 crore (₹1,260 million) as of March 2026, all under appeal. Consolidated disclosures show a Service Tax demand of ₹32.91 crore along with interest and penalty for an equivalent amount for April 2011 to March 2016, and income tax demands of ₹23.08 crore spanning FY 2009-10 to FY 2019-20. Management consistently asserts favourable outcomes and makes no provisions. - Related-party loans peaked at ₹115 crore and a new management-fee outflow appeared
Major- Consolidated non-current loans to a Group entity stood at ₹97.46 crore as at 31 March 2026, down from ₹115.11 crore a year earlier, carrying floating-rate interest. Standalone trade receivables from wholly owned subsidiaries swung from ₹25.71 crore in FY2023 to ₹80.60 crore in FY2025 before declining to ₹44.96 crore. Management fees paid to related parties were ₹24.06 crore in FY2025-26 versus nil in the prior year. - A ₹120 crore amalgamation debit persists and exceptional charges recur
Major- Capital Reserve carried a debit balance of ₹120.62 crore from amalgamation and restructuring as at 31 March 2026, unchanged from the prior year. The Company recognised an exceptional item of ₹14.73 crore in FY2025-26 for newly notified Labour Codes. Deferred tax on undistributed cumulative earnings of subsidiaries remains unrecognised, and the Group states it is not practicable to estimate the amount. - Revenue quality is pressured by customer concentration and contract-mix shifts
Minor- Standalone revenue fell 8.4% to ₹939.06 crore after a business-model change routed contracts through subsidiaries. The share of consolidated revenue from Group clients rose from 20% in FY2021-22 to 35% in FY2025-26, and BFSI contributed 81% of consolidated revenue. Days Sales Outstanding improved to 91 days at 31 March 2026 from a peak of 113 days at 31 March 2023. - Operating cash flow has been inconsistent relative to profit
Minor- Cumulative CFO of ₹609 crore covered only 57% of cumulative EBITDA of ₹1,066 crore over the ten years through FY2026. In FY2023, CFO was ₹23.08 crore against PAT of ₹134 crore, a ratio of 0.17x. The Board recommended a final dividend of ₹110 per share for FY2025-26 on 28 July 2026, following an interim dividend of ₹50 per share, after declaring no dividend for FY2023-24 or FY2021-22. - Statutory auditor resigned mid-tenure in August 2024, replaced by Deloitte
Minor- M/s. Kalyaniwalla & Mistry LLP resigned as statutory auditors with immediate effect on 1 August 2024. The FY2024-25 CARO report states there were no issues, objections or concerns raised by the outgoing auditors. Deloitte Haskins & Sells was appointed the same day and shareholders approved the appointment with 99.99% votes in favour. - The group operates through a straightforward chain of wholly owned subsidiaries
Clean- The group had five wholly owned subsidiaries as at 31 March 2026, with no associates, joint ventures, or material subsidiaries in any year. Expleo Solutions FZE was liquidated on 24 March 2025. Expleo Solutions LLC was incorporated in Dubai on 10 August 2023. A new GIFT City subsidiary was incorporated on 14 June 2026 after the reporting period.
What to watch
- SEIS benefits cancellation. The 20 May 2025 order requires repayment of ₹4.53 crore plus interest and penalty; the FY2025-26 annual report does not disclose the current status of any appeal or payment.
- CGST demand. The order dated 31 March 2026 aggregating ₹12.64 lakh was received on 1 April 2026; the FY2025-26 annual report does not disclose the current status of any appeal or payment.
- Final dividend payment. The recommended final dividend of ₹110 per share for FY2025-26 is subject to shareholder approval at the 28th AGM, payable on or before 25 September 2026.
- MD & CEO term. Mr. Phani Tangirala's three-year term expires 31 July 2027.
Bottom line: This is a disclosed and audited record with clean audit opinions and a simple subsidiary structure. The risk sits in three places: a multi-year stack of disputed tax demands exceeding ₹100 crore that management expects to win but makes no provision for, a ₹120 crore amalgamation debit that persists alongside recurring exceptional charges, and a pattern of related-party flows, loans, receivables, and a new management fee. Read the contingent liabilities note and the related-party disclosures with those questions in mind, and watch whether the SEIS and CGST orders appear in the next annual report.