Jammu and Kashmir Bank Ltd Forensic Report - SOIC x StockScans Report

as of Sep 2026

The Jammu and Kashmir Bank's audited record shows a clean six-of-seven-year opinion history, but that record is shadowed by a single GST demand that dwarfs annual profit, a qualified opinion on an employee share scheme, and recurring regulatory penalties and accounting-policy changes flagged by the C&AG.

Key findings

  1. A single GST demand of ₹8,130.66 crore, dwarfing the bank's annual profit, has been stayed by the High Court, while a second ₹200.20 crore demand on the same transfer-pricing theory was added in FY2025-26. Major - The Central GST Commissionerate, Jammu raised a demand of ₹8,130.66 crore for 08.07.2017 to 31.03.2020, plus interest and an equivalent penalty, treating transfer price interest transactions between Branches and Corporate Headquarters as taxable; operations were stayed by the Hon'ble High Court of J&K and Ladakh, and management states the demand is "not even contingent as there is no probable outflow" and "infructuous". A further demand of ₹200.20 crore for 2019-20 to 2023-24 under Section 74(1) of the CGST Act-2017, with interest and an equivalent penalty, was added in addition to the previous year figure; the Bank is filing a Writ Petition before the Hon'ble High Court of J&K and Ladakh, which previously granted a stay in a similar matter. The demand order dated 23-03-2026 was for ₹200,20,80,009/- demand and ₹200,20,80,009/- penalty, relating to interest receivable under the Transfer Pricing Mechanism between Corporate Headquarters and branches treated as financial services, for the period February 23, 2020 to March 2024.
  2. Audit opinions were clean for six of seven years, but FY2022-23 brought a qualified opinion on the ESPS share allotment funded by employee credit facilities, and C&AG comments in FY2025-26 flag recurring accounting-policy and disclosure failures. Major - The statutory auditors issued an unqualified opinion for FY2025-26, FY2024-25, FY2023-24, FY2021-22, FY2020-21, and FY2019-20, and a qualified opinion for FY2022-23 on the JKBESPS-2023 share allotment. For FY2022-23, the joint auditors qualified their opinion because the Bank allotted 7 crore equity shares aggregating ₹274.75 crore at ₹39.25 per share to 9,834 employees on 21 March 2023, with payment realised only on 22 and 23 March 2023, and sample data showed employees used existing or freshly enhanced cash-credit and personal-loan facilities to fund share purchases, contrary to RBI directions and Clause 21 of the scheme. C&AG comments dated 19 August 2026 on the FY2025-26 statements state that 11 Nostro Accounts in foreign banks with balance ₹87.36 crore had corresponding 20 Mirror Accounts with balance ₹36.26 crore, a variation of ₹51.10 crore, and no reconciliation statement was prepared despite the variation.
  3. J&K Bank faced RBI penalties across seven consecutive years Major - RBI imposed monetary penalties in each of FY2019-20 through FY2025-26, with annual penalty amounts of ₹63.55 lakh, ₹2.81 lakh, ₹1.01 crore, ₹1.46 crore, ₹2.84 crore, ₹3.38 crore, and ₹1.39 crore respectively. RBI's Enforcement Department imposed a penalty of ₹99.30 lakh on December 5, 2025, for failure to escalate wholly/partially rejected complaints to the Internal Ombudsman, not sending final letters to customers regarding complaint redressal, delay in credit to the Depositor Education and Awareness Fund, and non-compliance with RBI directions on V-CIP procedure. CAG's comments on the FY2025-26 statements state that the Bank's Annual Report for FY2024-25 was not forwarded to UT of Ladakh for placement before Parliament, and was neither placed before Parliament nor UT Legislature, in violation of Sections 394 and 395 of the Companies Act, 2013.
  4. J&K Bank repeatedly changed accounting policies and estimates that boosted reported profit or reserves, while C&AG found the FY2025-26 DTA policy change was not disclosed as required and a prior-period revaluation-reserve appropriation had to be reversed. Major - C&AG reported that during FY2025-26 the Bank adopted a Board-approved (5 May 2026) policy recognising Deferred Tax Assets on provision for doubtful debts at 100% of actual disallowance instead of 50%, increasing DTA from ₹69.96 crore to ₹188.69 crore with a net impact of ₹118.73 crore on current-year profitability, and that this was not disclosed in Notes to Accounts-18 or under Schedule 17 Principal Accounting Policies contrary to AS-1. The auditor's Emphasis of Matter records a transfer of ₹23.94 crore from General Reserve to Statutory Reserve consequent to final C&AG comments for FY ended 31 March 2025, to correct a prior period appropriation of ₹95.76 crore from Revaluation Reserve to General Reserve pertaining to FY2017-18 to FY2022-23. In FY2024-25, the Bank changed its pension investment approach from annuities with return on capital to investments with non-return on capital, reducing the actuarial pension liability by ₹112 crore which was credited to 'Payment & Provision for Employees', with previous year figures not comparable.
  5. A state-controlled bank where the promoter's 100% vote repeatedly overrides public-institution dissent on director appointments and remuneration, while board-composition compliance failures and defeated ESOP/NED-pay resolutions recur across years. Major - In the postal ballot concluded November 24, 2025, public institutions voted 62.63% against the appointment of Mr. Arun Gandotra as Independent Director (61,222,643 against vs 36,525,932 in favour), yet the resolution passed with 91.86% overall support because the promoter voted 100% in favour. In the postal ballot concluded March 20, 2022, the promoter and promoter group voted 100% (654,098,280 votes) against Resolution 7 (JKB ESOS 2022) and Resolution 8 (NED fixed remuneration up to ₹15 lakhs), and both resolutions were lost with 99.59% and 99.40% of total votes against respectively. The Secretarial Audit Report for FY2020-21 recorded that the Bank's Board composition was not compliant with Section 152 of the Companies Act, 2013 throughout the year due to inadequate number of Rotational Directors, and that with an Executive Chairman the Bank had only three Independent Directors, less than half of Board strength required under SEBI LODR Regulation 17(1)(b).
  6. Operating cash flow swings between deep negative and positive years while CAG has twice flagged that the Bank's cash-flow statement improperly treats a non-cash revaluation reserve increase as cash inflow, inflating investing cash flow. Minor - CAG's comments on the FY2025-26 standalone financial statements state that the Cash Flow from Investing Activities of ₹(302.24) crore was arrived at after considering gross increase in fixed assets of ₹469.33 crore (purchases ₹158.52 crore plus revaluation increase ₹310.81 crore) as cash outflow and netting off increase in Revaluation Reserve of ₹310.81 crore as cash inflow, and that the revaluation reserve increase is a non-cash item that should not have been shown in the Cash Flow Statement per AS-3, with net outflow on purchase of fixed assets of ₹158.52 crore only to be considered. Operating cash flow was negative ₹1,126 crore in FY26 (CFO/PAT -0.48x), positive ₹2,723 crore in FY25 (CFO/PAT 1.31x), negative ₹853 crore in FY24 (CFO/PAT -0.48x), negative ₹407 crore in FY23 (CFO/PAT -0.34x), and negative ₹1,568 crore in FY22 (CFO/PAT -3.17x). The Board recommended no dividend for FY2025-26.

What to watch

Bottom line: The bank's core record is clean, six unqualified opinions in seven years, but the risk is concentrated in a single, unresolved GST demand that is over three times annual profit, and in a pattern of accounting-policy changes and regulatory penalties that the C&AG has repeatedly flagged. The promoter's voting control means governance dissent rarely changes outcomes. Watch the GST writ petitions, the ECL provisioning estimate, and whether the C&AG's recurring findings get corrected in FY2026-27.