Key Takeaways
- Balance sheet strength on display: The bank absorbed the full ₹7,400 crore family pension liability upfront, bypassing RBI’s five-year deferral, without denting profitability.
- Asset quality turned a corner: Gross slippages collapsed from ₹15,000 crore in Q1 to ₹4,176 crore in Q2, aided by ₹8,000 crore in pullbacks and better underwriting.
- Corporate deleveraging persists: Corporate loans sat below March levels as capacity utilization hovered near 60%, though October showed early signs of a pickup.
- Restructured book behaving better than feared: Borrowers are voluntarily exiting restructuring as cash flows repair, a departure from legacy restructuring cycles.
- What to watch next quarter: Whether the October corporate pickup translates into sustained credit growth, the pace of restructured accounts returning to standard, and any movement on subsidiary IPOs or YONO monetization.
One-Offs & The Pension Absorption
The quarter’s defining event was a deliberate show of strength: absorbing the ₹7,400 crore family pension liability in full, without using RBI’s five-year deferral, and still delivering a clean profit outcome.
- Miscellaneous income collapsed from ₹1,981 crore to ₹365 crore, a swing that reflects the pension charge flowing through the P&L.
- Miscellaneous expenses rose on GST, donations (SB Foundation and others added ~₹100 crore), law charges, audit fees and security costs.
- One-offs are recurring but manageable: Items like income tax refund interest (₹1,922 crore in FY22 vs ₹1,517 crore in FY21) are recognized in the quarter they land and are not significant against total income.
Khara: "I am glad to share that we could absorb liability to the tune of Rs. 7,400 crores due to enhancement in family pension in this quarter itself without availing the relief which was granted by Reserve Bank of India in terms of deferring it for five years; without impacting the profitability outcomes of the bank too."
Asset Quality & Slippages
- Slippages fell sharply: Q2 gross slippages were ₹4,176 crore, down from ₹15,000 crore in Q1, with pullbacks of ~₹8,000 crore during the quarter.
- Slippage composition was largely corporate, including one large publicly known account and a few smaller ones, not chunky.
- Disclosure practice unchanged: Slippages are reported net of pullbacks that occurred during the quarter, a consistent practice the bank declined to revisit despite an analyst request for gross drop-basis disclosures.
- DHFL recovery: The entire exposure passed through the recovery/write-off line in GNPA movement. ₹4,000 crore recovered allowed a provision reversal; the remaining balance will be written off. The account was fully provided for but not yet written off.
- COVID provision drawdown: The provision was ad hoc, not specific. Since Q1 slippages were almost entirely pulled back, additional provisions were reversed.
Restructured Book: A Different Cycle
- Behavioral shift: Restructuring this cycle is a function of cash flow disruption, not structural credit weakness. As cash flows repair, borrowers are voluntarily exiting the restructuring tag, a pattern management expects to continue.
- Home loans: Most restructurings carried an 18–24 month moratorium. Many borrowers had high CIBIL scores and took it as a safety measure; they may not avail the full moratorium, and at the one-year mark many could return to standard.
- SMEs: Some sectors are doing well post-second wave and may exit restructuring before completing the two-year moratorium.
- Express credit saw hardly any restructuring; the book was concentrated in home loans and SMEs.
Management: "Actually, this restructuring, there is a characteristic difference, because this is essentially a function of the disruption in cash flow. When the cash flows are getting repaired and restored, people would like to come out of the restructuring tag that is what we have generally observed."
Credit Growth & Corporate Book
- Corporate deleveraging kept the loan book below March levels as of September, with capacity utilization at ~60%. Reductions in iron and steel, aviation/airports, and tourism/hotels were driven by deleveraging, one-account repayment, and lack of fresh disbursements, not competitive losses.
- Early green shoots: October saw a pickup, the busy season is bringing more inquiries and higher utilization, and the pipeline is steady at ~₹115,000 crore.
- Credit growth expectation is around 10%, based on availments from a sanction limit exceeding ₹4 lakh crore, contingent on capacity utilization.
- International book: Management is confident of building a healthy book as overseas economies perform well.
Margins, Yield & Operating Leverage
- Yield on advances rose partly due to write-backs and lower interest reversals: Q1’s high slippages (₹15,166 crore) caused reversals, while Q2’s low slippages meant fewer reversals.
- NIM guidance: Management aims to keep NIM range-bound between 3.20% and 3.33%.
- Operating leverage: Costs are expected to lag income growth as operating leverage kicks in, delivering more normalized cost ratios.
- Deposit rates: Described as a dynamic situation; the bank will remain vigilant and responsive to customer needs and market conditions.
- RWA density declined partly through conscious underwriting and partly through policy. Express credit (unsecured) has grown, but with risk-reward discipline. Density will rise marginally but stay within tolerable limits.
YONO, Subsidiaries & Capital
- YONO digital lending: Pre-approved personal loans are end-to-end digital. KCC reviews, mutual fund sales, life insurance policies and gold loans are all being routed through YONO, with the strategy to push as many commoditized products as possible onto the platform.
- Monetization deferred: YONO will be considered for monetization or valuation at a material point; for now the focus is on making it robust enough to fetch the right value.
- Subsidiary IPOs: Not factored into capital calculations. Any IPO would meet the subsidiaries’ own ambitions to become listed industry leaders, not a compulsion for raising capital at the parent level.
- Capital raising: The bank will watch growth opportunities and tap the market at an opportune time if needed.
Management: "It will be rather meeting their own ambitions and aspirations because when they become the industry leader in their own right they should get listed. That will be something their guiding principles."
Guidance & Commitments
| Commitment | Specifics | Timeline |
|---|---|---|
| ROE aspiration | Consistently deliver 15% ROE through cycles | No timeline given (uncertainties cited) |
| Credit growth | ~10% growth based on availments from ₹4 lakh cr+ sanction limit | Conditional on capacity utilization pickup |
| NIM range | Range-bound between 3.20% and 3.33% | Ongoing |
| Corporate pipeline | Pipeline steady at ~₹115,000 crore; October pickup observed | Busy season underway |
| RWA density | Will rise marginally but remain within tolerable limits | Ongoing |
| Home loan restructuring | At end of one year, many may become standard | ~12 months from restructuring |
Key Metrics
| Metric | Q2 FY22 |
|---|---|
| Net profit | Not stated, but management indicated ROE aspiration of 15% and that the bank is at an inflection point |
| Net interest income | ₹31,000 cr approx, includes ₹1,922 cr interest on income tax refund |
| Net interest margin | 3.20% to 3.33% target range, management expects to remain range-bound |
| Gross slippages | ₹4,176 cr, down from ₹15,000 cr in Q1 FY22; major part is corporate |
| Pullbacks from prior quarter slippages | ~₹8,000 cr recovered out of Q1 FY22 gross slippages of ₹15,000 cr |
| Total restructuring outstanding | ₹38,000 cr, comprising ₹30,000 cr under Restructuring 1 & 2 and ₹8,000 cr legacy restructuring |
| COVID provision | ₹6,200 cr, drawn down from ₹9,000 cr; represents ~20% provision on total restructured book of ~₹30,000 cr |
| Capital adequacy ratio | 14.22%, after raising ₹6,000 cr AT1 bonds in October 2021; additional ₹4,000 cr AT1 headroom available |
| Credit growth | 6.17% YoY; management expects growth to reach around 10% |
| Domestic net interest margin | Not stated as a separate figure; overall NIM target 3.20–3.33% |
| Retail book | ₹9 lakh crore, largest in the country, 3-year CAGR of 16%+ |
| YONO daily savings account openings | ~27,500 accounts per day in Q2 FY22; 62% of H1 FY22 SB accounts opened via YONO |
| YONO pre-approved personal loans (PAPL) | ₹7,875 cr YTD FY22; quarterly run-rate ~₹5,000 cr; Q1 FY22 was subdued at ₹2,500–2,800 cr |
| ECLGS book | ₹26,360 cr outstanding; 2% classified as NPA |
| Unavailed term loan and unutilized working capital | ~₹450,000 cr; new proposal pipeline of ~₹115,000 cr |
| Family pension liability | ₹7,400 cr absorbed in Q2 FY22 without availing RBI's 5-year deferral option |
| Exposure to Calcutta-based NBFC | Over ₹2,700 cr, fully provided for and classified as NPA |
| DHFL recovery | ₹4,000 cr recovered out of ₹10,000 cr total exposure; balance ₹6,000 cr written off |
| Real write-offs (H1 FY22) | ₹3,164 cr for the entire half year |
| SMA-1 and SMA-2 above ₹5 crore | ₹6,690 cr |
| Miscellaneous expenses | ₹1,789 cr, up from ₹1,013 cr YoY due to GST, donations, law charges, audit fees, security expenses |
| Miscellaneous income | ₹365 cr, down from ₹1,981 cr YoY |
| YONO total registrations | 4.4 crore; average daily log-in ~1.20 crore |
| YONO mutual fund sales | ~₹5,000 cr in H1 FY22 |
| YONO life policies sold | ~22 lakh policies in H1 FY22 |
| YONO gold loans disbursed | ~₹60,000 cr worth of gold loans processed via YONO |